Secrets to sending and shaving strokes

The other week I was disc golfing out at a local course, and just completely fell apart on the last three holes.  The week before in the second round of a tournament, I shot 5 over in the last 3 holes.  In both situations I had felt good and then just suddenly lost all touch and control, I was devastated to have such a major collapse. Mentally, I had maintained my focus but just couldn’t keep it together.  It wasn’t until I sat down and let myself rest a minute I realized what was the issue.  I was really hungry.

Snacks,  as simple as it seems having mid round, or mid climbing sessions snacks are a key to maintaining performance.  I have learned over the years that when I’m out following my passions my body will shift into task mode and I will feel the sense of hunger come over me, and because of that I can spend a whole day climbing carrying only a small Larabar for my food for the day, having only eaten a small breakfast.

While I know I can comfortably get away with that I have learned it will lead to diminished performance.  When I look back on the tournaments and rounds I shot really well at, I had stopped an snacked.  The days i climbed by best, you guessed it, snacks were involved.   My body need continuous fuel to maintain performance.  So knowing that I try and choose simple foods that are good quick sugar to help generate the fuel I need.

Lately I have been choosing to have Chili Dried Mangos.  Its fruit so it’s kinda healthy but it is really just a good simple sugar your body can convert to quick energy, and they taste great. Honey stingers chews, and chocolate covered espresso beans are also a consistent part of my snack regime.

Some ideas to consider for your own snack options

-Simple Sugars to convert for quick energy

-Light you are going to be carrying this around with you all day don’t want too much extra weight

-Can your stomach handle it, you know your body the best choose something that is not going to upset your stomach

-Choose something that is not going to get mess up your hands, making them slippery or sticky.

The discgolfanswerman blog featured and article that also emphasised the importance of snacks
http://discgolfanswerman.com/blog/top-10-things-overlooked-when-preparing-for-a-disc-golf-tournament/

Leave a Reply

